Our third-party Gift Card providers system occasionally experiences temporary network issues when processing Gift Card payments.
This results in a pre-authorisation (also known as a pre-auth) being placed on your Gift Card.
Your Gift Card balance is not lost and is usually restored within an hour.
Sometimes our third-party Gift Card systems provider, GiveX, experiences temporary network issues when processing Gift Card payments.
What is a Pre-Auth?
Similar to when you stay a hotel or hire a car, a pre-authorisation (also known as a pre-auth) is when an amount on a card is put on hold for a temporary period.
This pre-auth should only last during Checkout. Unfortunately, when GiveX experiences temporary network issues, this temporary hold is not automatically reversed by their systems and we need to manually clear the pre-authorisation.
What to do
If your card is now showing as having no funds available, please submit a request for our customer service team to assist you with reloading the funds onto your card.
Please provide the gift card number and the time at which you first attempted to make a purchase with this gift card.